The history of Roullet Сognac House dates back to the XVIII century to a place called Le Goulet in the village of Foussignac located to the north of Jarnac in the Cognac region. This is the place where the Roullet family owned vineyards from 1772 and where Paul Frédéric Roullet founded the Cognac House in 1780.
For almost 250 years the family descendants and cellar masters created great drinks under the Roullet trademark passing on their experience, savoir-faire and century-old traditions from generation to generation.
Paul Frederic Roullet managed to enter into a close relationship with the Royal Court. Napoleon Bonaparte was known to become one of the first connoisseurs of the Roullet Cognac House. Thanks to these ties, the Roullet company survived the French Revolution and received the Republic's license to distil and supply cognac in 1791. Roullet became one of the suppliers for the Bonaparte and Napoleon armies.
Nowadays Roullet Cognac House is part of SAS LES VIGNOBLES REUNIS-ROULLET Company. Despite being a modern company that takes into account the market trends and consumer preferences, the House still remains committed to the family age-old traditions. Mathias Paul Roullet, the ninth generation, keeps a watchful eye on the «eaux-de-vie» and perpetuates his family traditions. The company has more than 200 hectares of its own vineyards, the majority of which (about 140 hectares) are located in Fins Bois, the historical homeland of Roullet – Foussignac and Migron. About 30 hectares are situated in the heart of the Grande Champagne vineyards in Saint-Preuil and Segonzac. There are also vineyards located in Maleville, Grande Champagne (18 hectares) and in Sainte-Lheurine, Petite Champagne (16 hectares).